Pop art with paint chips

25 Feb

When I first saw paint chip art my initial thought was “how tacky” but then I found the3rsblog.wordpress.com. She has some really great graphic pictures made with paint chips, so that inspired my latest project, that and the fact that it cost me nothing. I really like thrifty craft, the cost involved in making things often has put me off in the past.

My mini men have a playroom, which I am slowly decorating for them, my goal today was to make some cute and inexpensive art for the wall.

We took a trip to our local Bunnings to get some paint chips in the colour pallette I am using for the room (blue, yellow and white), while there I also picked up a can of white enamel spray paint, then from home I found some old unused frames.

Image

The first thing I did was to spray paint my frames so that they would be dry by the time I had finished my art.

Image

I then cut out the shapes I would be using, I chose to use circles, triangles and squares to create some graphic, pop art style pictures. I used scissors to cut the shapes, but if you had paper punches in a variety of shapes and sizes that would be much easier.

Image

Using craft glue I glued my shapes onto some paper, trying to arrange them in some interesting and eye catching patterns.

Image

When I placed my pictures in the frames I was  bit disappointed that the edge of the frame obscured the edge of the pictures but over all I am happy with the final result. They are bright and cheery, the perfect addition to the mini men’s playroom.

Image

I haven’t hung them up yet, as soon as I do I will post a picture.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

