Goodbye Summer

1 Mar

Image

Yesterday marked the end of summer here in Australia, so I chose to mark the event by baking some lovely summery watermelon inspired cupcakes. All the recipes I found were American, so either the measurements needed translating eg. a stick of butter? We measure butter in grams so I am  not sure what a stick is or they contain packet mix, which from an earlier post you may remember is against my baking ethics. I did , however, find an interesting way to add flavour and colour to cakes…jelly crystals.

So I turned to baking bible …Women’s Weekly BakeImage

and found a simple butter cake recipe that I intended to add watermelon flavoured jelly crystals to, but watermelon jelly crystals don’t seem to exist in Australia, despite me standing in the jelly section of the supermarket staring at the jelly and willing them to appear, so I used the next best thing…strawberries and cream flavour.

The ingredients for this recipe were;

250g unsalted butter

1 1/4 cups of caster sugar (I only used one though as I added the jelly crystals)

3 eggs
Image

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cups of self raising flour

3/4 cup of milk

Method

Cream butter, sugar, vanilla and jelly crystals until light and fluffy, beat in eggs, stir in flour and milk. I also added some extra red food colouring to get just the right watermelony pink. I also added some dark choc chips to imitate the seeds. I then put them in regular sized patty papers and baked for 15-20 minutes on 160 degrees celsius (around 350 F I think)

This is how they looked straight out of the oven

Image

Then to complete the watermelon look I topped them with bright green icing made with 125g butter, 2 cups icing sugar a splash of milk and of course lots of green colouring.

Image

They turned out to be a big hit with the fam bam…between hubby and Mr 4 they ate 10 last night while I was at work!

So…watermelon cupcakes, a perfect end to a great Summer!

2 Responses to “Goodbye Summer”

  1. clairelouise82 March 1, 2013 at 3:36 am #

    Oh these look amazing. As a UK lass who can’t wait for some sunshine. This gives me the perfect idea for a summer garden party I’m planning. Thanks Claire (mummy of many talents).

  2. craftyminx1980 March 1, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    Hi Claire, These would certainly be a wonderful addition to a summer garden party. Good luck with it! Stacie

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

