Chevron Love

5 Mar

I have often been put off sewing because of the high cost of fabric in Australia, but I recently took the plunge and bought fabric from America, one of which was this wonderful yellow and white chevron fabric that I had been eyeing off over here at $22/m and I got it for the bargain price of  $8.79/yd.

I don’t know when the humble zig zag grew up and became the much fancier chevron, but whatever the name I love them for home decor, that is why I decided to use this fabric to create some curtains for the mini mens playroom. I also decided to use an eyelet design as it is simple yet stylish.

Image

After cutting my fabric to size I ran a small hem around all Four sides.

Image

I used eyelet tape, which is readily available from the fabric shop and it comes with the grommits to finish your curtains with. When using eyelet tape you need to make sure that you have an even amount of rings for a perfect finish when hanging.

I measured and cut my tape and pinned it to my fabric.

Image

Using a zipper foot, to make it easier to sew beside the rings, I stitched along all edges of the tape with a straight stitch.

Once the tape was secured to the fabric I was able to cut out the fabric from inside the rings. This was the most time consuming part of the whole project, but once I had a cutting system, I got through I quite quickly.

Image

It was then time to fit the grommits over the  rings for a clean finish. These easily just click on and voila!..brand new gorgeous curtains. Image

Image

I am so in love with these curtains, I can’t wait to hang them! (photos will follow once they are hung) I will definitely be using this technique again when I do the curtains for the mini mens bedroom, it was so easy and quick (I ran up two curtains on a Sunday morning)

One Response to “Chevron Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster Award | Misadventures in craft - April 15, 2013

    […] I’m always proud of my cake decorating, if that is a craft, but ones of the things you can see on my blog that I am super proud of are my yellow and white chevron curtains […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

