An ambitious Easter Bunny…part 1

13 Mar

I found myself at home with no Mini men today so I thought I might start on what could be an overly ambitious idea of filling the dyed eggs I previously made with chocolate and ganache.

I found a how to on the  Martha Stewart  website, I didn’t follow her guide exactly as she tempered her chocolate and I thought that seemed like too much hard work and unnecessary. If you are interested in the whys and hows of tempering chocolate Cadbury explains it well.

All you will need to fill your eggs is some chocolate (whatever type takes your fancy) something to hold your eggs still while being filled and a disposable piping bag, piping tips are optional but it does make it a little easier.

Image

I broke the chocolate up and put it in the microwave for about 35 seconds.

Image

You want the chocolate to still be a little lumpy, just stir until it is smooth and completely melted. Then spoon it into your piping bag and you are ready to fill your eggs!

This was the part I was nervous about but I think it turned out much better than I was expecting. First I put some tape on  one of the holes in the eggs and made sure the other hole was large enough for he piping tip to fit into then I just piped the chocolate in swirled it around took the tape off and let the excess chocolate drain out. I then put them in the fridge to set, turning them a few times to make sure the chocolate didn’t pool to one side as it set.

I had envisioned a lot of mess and fiddliness and eggs being broken or thrown across the room in frustration, but it was actually easy, quick and pretty tidy. So far my filled eggs are a success, now I just need to keep them hidden in the fridge so the Minimen don’t find them.

If you want to you can leave it there but I want to also fill mine with ganache, if you are interested to find out how that goes pop back next week some time for part 2 of An ambitious Easter Bunny!

One Response to “An ambitious Easter Bunny…part 1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Easter! | Misadventures in craft - March 31, 2013

    […] Easter! These are the Minimens baskets, featuring the eggs in cages and the dyed and filled […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

