Giving a rocky relationship another chance

8 Apr
Image

I chose two different rainbow yarns and a bright yellow

My Mum, Grandma, Great Grandma and probably countless other women in my family have all been lovers of crochet.

They have superior skills that make them great crochet lovers and they all had long lasting, successful partnerships with it.

A doily by my Grandma

A doily by my Great Grandma

A doily by my Great Grandma

My on again off again relationship with crochet can only be described as rocky at best. I started early learning how to make a never ending chain and my skills really haven’t progressed much past this, I can still chain like a pro and it is my preferred move, but being able to chain well does not make for a great relationship.

I have tried many times to move things along and improve but I lack the patience, I forget how many stitches I have done, I can’t differentiate stitches. But, like any other unfinished relationship I have to keep going back for more.

I found this cowl scarf on Pinterest recently and thought it looked easy enough and it might just be the kickstart to rescuing our relationship.

hour-and-a-half-cowl

You can find the pattern and instructions here

I used a smaller hook (12mm) than the pattern states and only 3 different yarns instead of 4.  And beacuase I was using a smaller hook I needed to use more chains in my initial row.

The pattern only consists of single crochets and chains and apparently should only take 1 1/2 hours to make. I am a slow and clumsy crocheter at best so it took me a day to make.

It was very easy and I actually really enjoyed making it and even though I think I still managed to miss a few stitches and put stitches in the wrong place it turned out well.

DSC_0344

A length of chain

All may not be lost between crochet and Me, a flame has been reignited and if we take things slowly and not get in over our heads to soon, we may be able to develop the strong lifelong bond the other women in my family were able to make. 

Image

First row of single crochet

Image

Finished

Image

From a different angle

As a headband

As a headband

As a cowl
As a cowl

As a Beanie
As a Beanie

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

