Cheesy Fish Crackers

18 Apr

image

Yesterday, in between 5, yes 5, loads of laundry, and a trip to the dentist for a bit of root canal I found time to whip up these yummy cheese crackers for The Minimen’s afternoon snack.

I found the recipe here, it was an American recipe so I had to do a bit of translating

image

The ingredients are

8oz vintage cheddar grated( I used almost all of a 250g block of cheese)

1/2 a stick of butter ( if Googles conversion is correct this is about 50g)

3/4 tsp salt

1 cup of plain flour

2 tbs chilled water

image

First I put the cheese, butter and salt in a bowl, and mixed together till smooth. My poor old electric beaters did not like doing this very much, they made many noises of complaint, but eventually it all combined.

image

This is what it looked like

image

Then I mixed in the flour, the dough was quite crumbly as you can see above.

Then I added the water and mixed that in, but it left the dough very sticky, so I added flour and kneaded it until it came together in a gorgeous doughy ball of cheesy goodness.

image

This is my dough….it needs to be refrigerated for at least an hour now.

image

After taking it out of the fridge roll it very thinly on a lightly floured surface, you can cut it into squares or use a small cutter to make shapes, I chose some cute little fishies to try and entice The Minimen into eating them.

imageThey can then go on a baking tray to be cooked them at 180 degrees celsius (375F) for 15-20 minutes or until golden. Mine were cooked for around 15 minutes, if I make them again I would probably give them an extra couple of minutes as they don’t quite have the right amount of crunch.

Other than that I think they taste very similar to store bought cheese biscuits. The Rooster tried them and then turned his nose up, but I expected that. I got a better response from Duckman, who has eaten a bowl full of them.

Using the vintage cheddar gives them probably more of an adult flavour, a milder cheddar might be  a better option if faced with fussy eaters. Or you could keep the vintage and add some dried herbs to create a cracker that would be a perfect accompaniment to some wine and antipasto when you have a kid free moment.

One Response to “Cheesy Fish Crackers”

  1. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay) April 18, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    That is cool. Pass it on to my daughter, since I only crochet these days- no cooking, no laundry, no cleaning. My husband does it all, because I am again in business for ourself. he did the same thing, when I opened a folk art studio. Love it. Thank you for posting, so hopefully they feed me.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

