T-shirts, Pouffs and Entry ways.

26 Apr

DSC_0335

Recently I saw this sweet entry way on Pinterest, and immediately I was in love.

hall table

I thought, “when I eventually get an entry way in my house this is how I want it to look.”

Then, through a bit of Googling, I found these cute little crocheted pouffs

puffgranny

and another site on tshirt yarn.

The next logical thought was, “I am going to make one of these little pouffs out of t shirt yarn to put in my non existent entry way.”

Yesterday I cleaned out Duckmans clothes so I had a bag full of little t-shirts  with which to practice making t-shirt yarn.

DSC_0321

First, you need to cut off the bottom hem and the top bit just under the sleeves.

DSC_0322

Then fold the shirt in half leaving about an inch allowance.

DSC_0323

Then you need to cut strips, probably about and inch or so wide, if it is too thin the fabric will snap later on, and don’t cut the allowance.

DSC_0324

Now, open it up so that the uncut bit is in the middle.

DSC_0325

To turn this into one long strip of fabric make diagonal cuts from one strip down to the next one.

DSC_0326

After this you should end up with one long continuous strip.

DSC_0328

Now for the fun part….pull and stretch the strip so that it lengthens (extra yarn…yay) and curls in on itself.

DSC_0330

It is best to use t-shirts with out side seams if you can, otherwise you will end up with bumpy bits like these…

DSC_0331

but since this was just a practice run I wasn’t  worried.

DSC_0332

This was quick and easy to do. I think I will now be scouring the op shops for some old seamless t-shirts to upcycle so that I can get started on my pouff. Oh and I also might have to get Mr Minx to finish renovating the front of my house so that I have an entry way to put it in!

4 Responses to “T-shirts, Pouffs and Entry ways.”

  1. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay) April 26, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Too cool! Thanks for sharing!

    • craftyminx1980 April 26, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      You’re welcome. I can’t wait to get started on this project!

  2. toniandrukaitis May 1, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    Interesting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Still a hippie at heart… | Misadventures in craft - August 21, 2013

    […] might remember this post about me wanting to make a pouf from t-shirt yarn to go in my non-existent entry way. Well things […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

