A bit of Monday Morning Inspiration

29 Apr

As much as I am loving crochet right now, sometimes I feel it can look kitchy and dated, and it doesn’t really fit in with the design aesthetic I have envisioned for my home. With this in mind I began Googling “modern crochet” last night and I discovered something amazing!

Free form crochet! If yo have never heard of or seen this before you may be asking what is free form crochet? Well this is how the International Free Form Crochet Guild describe it…..

What is freeform?

Freeform crochet is like painting – the hook is a brush and the yarn a paint. 
The result can be abstract or realistic. 
Freeform is original design, not a reproduction of another person’s pattern, 
– it goes beyond the realm of patterns and restrictions that usually apply toward our art. 
The outcome is a piece of art like no other, not only functional, but beautiful as well. 
Freeform includes 2-D and 3-D art, clothing and useful items.

Here are some examples of free form crochet….

 ImageImageImageImage

As you can see it is more like an artwork, and can take a variety of forms. This sort of crochet really grabs my attention and caters to my crazy need for colour, sparkle and texture! What do you think? Has anyone out there tried this and do you have any tips?

This find left my head spinning last night and a little crazy thought popped in there…”I wonder if it is possible to felt crochet?” So of course the first thing I did when I woke up was Google felted crochet and guess what? It exists! I have never felted anything in my life, although I have always wanted to, it is something that I find somewhat daunting, I don’t know why because it looks fairly straight forward and easy.

Here is how felted crochet looks…..

ImageImageImage

I like how these flowers in the bowl look like they are not fully felted and still retain some of their crocheted self.

I was worried when I started this blog that all the creativity I had when I was younger had long dried up but it seems that it has returned, my brain works overtime these days thinking of all the crazy projects that I want to attempt, I am going to have to get organised and make a plan of attack so that all these ideas become reality!

Image

3 Responses to “A bit of Monday Morning Inspiration”

  1. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay) April 29, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    I am glad you found this- very inspiring. I like it, but I like the traditional utility of crochet items just fine: Blankets, cover, garments, baby layettes. I have been making a living with art all my life and the reason why i could make a living at it is because people could USE my art and not just looking at it. if you make something everybody likes and not BUYS, you can’t make a living.
    My husband and I made our money with painted furniture, not with crochet. It saw our 3 kids through homeschool, private school and some through college.
    It thing it would be awesome to integrate the art style mentioned into the utility style of traditional crochet. After all: There is no new thing under the sun, just what you make of it.

  2. stitchedupmama May 4, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Love the examples of freeform crochet you’ve featured here! Inspirational =D

  3. madonnavalentine May 6, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    When we were kids my sister used to cut up plastic shopping bags into strips and crochet them into all sorts of things. These examples are amazing.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

