Shells and Scales

30 Apr

I found the  Lion Brand Yarn website the other day, it has a great stitch finder on it that has heaps of blocks and motifs for free. I want to expand my crochet repertoire, so I thought I would try some of these.   The site has American stitches, so, if like me you use UK stitches you will need to translate the patterns.                                                                                                       Textured Stripes Crochet BlockThis scale block is what I wanted to make but I really struggled with the pattern, it just didn’t make sense to me.                                                                                                                                              So I settled on a slightly easier shell pattern…. Here is my attempt.                                                                                                                image  I didn’t want the wavy top like in the block in the picture so I finished off with a row of double crochet with 2 half trebles in the low points. It was fairly easy and I feel I got better with each row, initially I wasn’t sure if I was putting the shell stitches in the right spot. I like the way the verigated yarn made the shells stand out more. I like this stitch and I think it could be very versatile.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

