Circles, squares and genes.

4 May

It seems that all those seemingly fruitless years of my Mum trying to teach me crochet has not been in vain.

It appears that all that knowledge has just been storing itself away waiting for my crochet gene to be turned on.

Since picking up a hook several weeks ago my skills and confidence in crochet has soared. Today I did something that I never thought would be possible such a short time ago….I created something  without a pattern!

I saw this blanket on Pinterest recently but was disappointed to find no tutorial when I clicked on the link.

crochet blanket squares 227x300 crochet blanket squares

Like I always do in moments of  confusion, I turned to Google to find the answer. I searched for circle in square motifs but Google had nothing like this.

I had all but given up on being able to make this, until yesterday.

Yesterday,  I successfully completed a solid concentric square pattern,which I found here,

DSC_0376

and over the past few weeks I have mastered crocheting in the round, see here. So  I thought that maybe I could combine the two of these to make my own motif . . And that is exactly what I did, here it is…

DSC_0378

I really like what I came up with, but on closer examination of the original Pinterest inspiration,  I could see how mine differed, so I went back and tried it again, here is my second attempt…

DSC_0377

I think this one is just about perfect, and it turned out to be really easy to make.

I am feeling pretty proud of myself, I have been carrying my square around all afternoon, I just can’t stop looking at it.

I feel there is no stopping me now my crochet gene has been switched on. I can’t wait to choose some delicious yarn to make my spotty blanket a reality.

10 Responses to “Circles, squares and genes.”

  1. bestofcrochet May 4, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    That is a beautiful blanket! Well done reverse-engineering! 🙂

  2. stitchedupmama May 4, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    You’ve come a long way in a very short time! Looks great =D

    • craftyminx1980 May 5, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      My mum has been trying to teach me on and off for probably 20 years! But I have always been messy and lost interest quickly, Since starting this blog and finding pinterest I have been inspired to stick with it and it is encouraging that I am finally seeing improvement.

  3. madonnavalentine May 6, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Fantastic. I would have no chance of doing that!

  4. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay) May 11, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

    I love your crochet genes come out!!!

  5. Eden's Lace June 17, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Aww! I know exactly what you mean about carrying a piece of crochet about! You know when it just works out *perfect*

    I think it’s really cool you were able to experiment and find a design that worked for you. So often, things on Pinterest seem completely unattainable, but well done! Hope you post more updates as the blanket progresses!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Colour Inspiration; Tangerine and Jade | Misadventures in craft - May 11, 2013

    […] week I posted about the Polka dot crochet motif. When I eventually get around to making a blanket from this motif I want to use a tangerine and […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

