My hooks now have a home.

7 May

I have been carrying my yarn, hooks and scissors around in a plastic bag for weeks now, the bag has become tattered due to the scissors and hooks poking through it. It is quite embarrassing toting this hot mess around.

Since I am home from work this week due to Duck man breaking his little foot I decided that today would be the perfect opportunity to begin phase one of giving the crochet a more comfortable and attractive home. Which was to sew a crochet hook clutch.

DSC_0439

I used some fabric I had left over from when I had made sprocket cushions and we had to make a trip to the fabric shop for some contrasting fabric and other supplies.

hook clutch2

Before I was able to start I had to tidy my sewing room as it looked like this….

DSC_0397

and before you ask, no, we were not burgled. The Minimen confused my sewing room for their play room and threw the contents of all bags/boxes on the floor.

After a quick tidy I was able to start

For this project you will need

  • 2 pieces of fabric 20cmx30cm (1 in each of your chosen fabric) these are the main body of the clutch
  • 2 pieces of fabric 13cmx30cm (1 in something plain as it will be on the inside of the pocket and not seen, the other in one of your fabrics) these form the pocket
  • 2 pieces of fabric 6cmx20cm (1 in each of your fabrics)
  • 1 piece of fusible padding 20cmx30cm
  • 1 piece of ribbon 10cm long
  • 1 button

DSC_0408

First pin the two pocket pieces and two flap pieces right side together.

DSC_0410

For the pocket, sew along one long side

For the flap, sew along one long side and one short side.

hook clutch21

Turn both pieces right way around and press.

I top stitched my pocket and flap to give it a lovely handmade finish.

Next fuse the padding to the wrong side of one of the pieces for the main body of the clutch (the one you intend to be on the inside is best).

DSC_0416

STOP!!!

Take this next step slowly and check that all the pieces are pinned together the way you want them before sewing, you do not want to have to unpick. I actually ended up with the fabric I had planned to be on the outside on the inside, I didn’t bother unpicking as it still looked just as cute.

Place the fabric with the fused padding right side up.

Then place the flap at the top corner and the pocket at the bottom, both of these are also right side up.

DSC_0418

Place your other fabric on top of this right side down.

DSC_0419

Double over the ribbon and pop it in the side with the looped end inside the clutch.

DSC_0420

Now pin.

Double check everything is how you want it.

Now sew.

I back stitched over the ribbon to give it some extra strength, and make sure you leave a gap so that it can be turned the right way round.

Trim the seams and corners then turn right way.

Press all the seams so that they sit attractively and hand sew the gap.

I also top stitched around the entire clutch at this point. Go slowly doing this as the seams are bulky.

DSC_0425

Mark out where you want the divisions in the pocket to be, I made one larger one to store scissors and other odds and ends and then 7 other ones in decreasing widths for my hooks.

Stitch down these markings, back stitching at both ends .

Trim all threads.

hook clutch24

Now fold the clutch in thirds, put a pin where the ribbon loop meets the other side. Sew your button onto this spot.

Put your hooks in their snuggly new home, fold up and fasten the button.

Now, like me, you also have a cute little clutch to house your hooks in and make them feel loved.

DSC_0433

This could also quite easily work for knitting needles, if you’re that way inclined, by changing the dimensions of the fabric.

Phase two of rehousing the crochet will be to sew a bag to store my yarn and my wonderful new hook clutch.

3 Responses to “My hooks now have a home.”

  1. jothetartqueen May 7, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    what a neat idea! unfortunately, I’m not v gd with these type of craft works.

  2. Loretta Boland February 2, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    I’m going to have a go at making one of the crochet hook carrier to take to my craft group.
    I’m not into patchwork as the other girls are. Prefer crochet and knitting.

    • craftyminx1980 February 2, 2014 at 5:10 pm #

      I would love to try quilting but I don’t think I have the patience. I also like the portability of crochet, it’s pretty hard to lug around a sewing machine. Good luck with the clutch, let me know how you do.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

