We Heart Dinosaurs!

15 May

Do you remember a few weeks ago we made Salt Dough Dinosaurs? Well, they have been sitting in a box waiting for me to go buy some paint to pretty them up since then. Finally I decided it was time to finish what we started and create the art work for The Minimen’s future bedroom, bought some paint and pulled out the dinosaurs.

DSC_0466

I sometimes have trouble letting go of my artistic vision when creating with The Minimen and allowing them to enjoy the experience and make something that pleases them, rather than what I think they should be making. This dinosaur artwork was no exception. I had an idea in my head of how I wanted it to look, that is each dinosaur a single colour, so when The Rooster started mixing colours and applying them liberally I had to take some deep breaths and just let go and enjoy his creativity.

DSC_0478

 

We had a great time doing this and the art work turned out just fine.

This is how we did it.

We chose some deliciously bright colours of acrylic paint.

DSC_0465

Using a variety of sponges and brushes we applied the paint to the dinosaurs and stars, then set them aside to dry.

DSC_0474

DSC_0473

DSC_0476

While they were drying I painted random and uneven chevrons in the same colours we used for the dinosaurs onto a canvas we had.

DSC_0479

We left our painting over night.

The next day we found that some of the dinosaurs had gone soft and the paint bubbly and cracked.

DSC_0492

DSC_0489

I’m not sure why this happened, or why it only happened to some of the shapes, maybe the wetness of the paint got into the dough and effected it. So if you are doing this  putting some sort of sealant over the salt dough before painting might prevent this.

I gave all the shapes a coat of clear nail polish to protect the paint and give them a glazed look. You could use any sort of clear varnish/finishing product to do this, I just happened to have nail polish at hand so that is what I used.

DSC_0499

I used a hot glue gun to fix the shapes to the canvas. There was some conjecture on the placement of them. The rooster wanted a more camouflaged look with a dinosaur placed on a chevron of the same colour while I wanted them to stand out by placing them on a different colour. I won out since I was the one handling the glue gun.

Here is our finished piece.

DSC_0506I can’t wait to hang it on their wall, it is going to look fantastic and it will be even more special because we made it together!

5 Responses to “We Heart Dinosaurs!”

  1. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay) May 15, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Too cute. Another great artist in the making!

  2. roylcoblog May 15, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    I love how your son’s artistic thought process developed during this activity. He considered coloring the dinos in his own way and even blending them into the canvas. However, I gotta give kudos to you–the end result is amazing!

    • craftyminx1980 May 16, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

      Thank you, it turned out better than I thought it would!

  3. Hannah May 17, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    This is so cute! Your kids did a great job!

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

