Salted Chocolate and caramel chip Cupcakes

17 May

DSC_0531

Cupcakes are fast becoming a weekly tradition in my house lately, someone always seems to be asking me “When are you making cupcakes?”

This weeks cupcakes were a flavour experiment.

I used my favourite caramel mud cake recipe and did a few substitutions and additions to come up with heaven in a patty case.

This is a melt and mix style cake, there is nothing I like more than melt and mix baking, so easy and less clean up.

This is the recipe the ingredients in blue are my substitutions or additions

185g butter, cubed

180g white chocolate dark chocolate broken/chopped roughly

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 cup milk

1 tbs golden syrup I left this out 

1 1/2 cups plain flour

1/2 cup S.R. flour

2 eggs

1 pkt caramel chips


5 pinches of sea salt or more or less depending on your taste

DSC_0491

Start by putting the butter, chocolate, sugar, milk and syrup into a saucepan,

DSC_0492

heat and stir until combined.

Now whisk in the flour and eggs

DSC_0498

at this point I put mine in the fridge to cool so that when I added the chips they didn’t melt into the mixture.

Once my mixture had cooled I added the caramel chips and I began to add the salt 1 pinch at a time, stirring and tasting the batter after each addition. If the cakes had been only for me I would have added some more salt, but since I didn’t know how my fussy family would react to salty cupcakes I held back. 5 pinches doesn’t taste overly salty, I can taste it, possibly because I know it is there, but no one else detected it as a distinct flavour.

This recipe will make a 20cm round/square cake, if that is what you want put it in the oven for around an hour at 180 degrees Celsius, if like me, your thing is little bites of deliciousness, mini cupcakes take 15-20 minutes also at 180 degrees Celsius.

When I took mine out of the oven they looked and felt like they might be under cooked

Just a little gooey looking

Just a little gooey looking

but as they cooled they firmed up and looked just perfect, this was confirmed by a taste test.

A pile of perfect little cakes patiently waiting to be iced

A pile of perfect little cakes patiently waiting to be iced

This week I wanted to work on my piping techniques, I used the condensed milk buttercream that I have been making lately and a selection of  Wilton tips to try my hand at a few different piping styles.

Below are my experiments with piping, I have labelled each cake with the tip I used to achieve the look.

DSC_0514DSC_0515DSC_0513-001DSC_0516

I was very pleased with how my piping came out, although I need to work on getting it in the middle of the cake. I also found that as the buttercream beacame softer from the heat of my hands it lost its shape so I had to put the piping bag in the fridge a couple of times for it to firm up again.

Mr Minx was impressed with my efforts and promptly ate several when he arrived home.

DSC_0511

These little cakes are delightfully delicious. Despite being a dense cake they are not heavy or over powering in flavour,

Even I was not immune to their beguiling and ambrosial qualities.

DSC_0517DSC_0520

6 Responses to “Salted Chocolate and caramel chip Cupcakes”

  1. yarnycakes May 17, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    These look awesomely delicious!

  2. charcoalblue May 20, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    I really enjoy your colourfulness and ideas so I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. Details are on my blog at http://charcoalblue.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/pleasantly-surprised/

    • craftyminx1980 May 21, 2013 at 6:28 am #

      thank you so much for the nomination, I have already had the Liebster Award, but I still appreciate that you enjoy my blog! 🙂 congrats on your nomination too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Caramel Cake « Putney Farm - May 24, 2013

    […] Salted Chocolate and caramel chip Cupcakes (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Butterscotch Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting | 2 Sweet Obsession - May 30, 2013

    […] Salted Chocolate and caramel chip Cupcakes (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

