Ginger and Lime Layer Cake

1 Jun

Friday night dinners are a tradition at my work. To make the pain of having to work a Friday night bearable we order take out, sit together and have a chat and laugh, and often someone brings a little sweet treat to share after our meal.

While looking through my trusty Women’s Weekly Baking Bible last week I spotted a gorgeous little number which I thought would be just perfect for this weeks Friday dessert. For something a little different I decided to stray from the ever popular cupcakes I am known for and make a whole cake.DSC_0675

The picture of the Ginger and Lime Layer cake is what caught my eye, it looked so moist and delicious I just had to try it out.

For the cake you will need

250g butter

1/2 cup of firmly packed dark brown sugar

2/3 cup of golden syrup

60g grated ginger

3/4 cup cream

1 cup plain flour

1 cup S.R. flour

1/2 teaspoon of bi-carb soda

To start, melt the butter in a pan and once melted add the sugar, syrup and ginger, stir until the sugar has dissolved.DSC_0640

Next whisk in the cream, flours and bi-carb and definitely have a taste of the batter, it is just like gingerbread!

Pour into a 22cm lined tin and bake at 180 degrees Celsius. The recipe says to bake for 40 minutes, which I thought was not long enough for a cake this size….and it wasn’t. Due to all my oven opening to check the cake mine took around an hour, but if I were to bake this again I think that I would check it at 50 minutes and it might be ready.

While the cake is baking prepare a lime syrup using

1/2 cup lime juice

!/2 cup caster sugar

1/2 cup water

DSC_0653

Bring this to the boil, stirring so that the sugar dissolves, allow it to boil for a couple of minutes and remove from heat.

After removing the cake from the oven leave it in the tin and using a skewer poke holes all over then pour the hot syrup over the hot cake, cover and refrigerate until cold.DSC_0654

While waiting for the cake to cool make the marscapone cream which is used between the layers and as the frosting.

Whip 300ml cream with 250g marscapone and 2 teaspoons of lime zest until stiff, refrigerate until needed. DSC_0651

This is the part I hate…cutting the layers. This cake needed three layers so I inserted a skewer and cut along that twice to end up with three layers.

Reline the pan you baked the cake in, lay the first layer into the pan and spread with a layer of the cream, place the second layer on and spread with cream then place the last layer on. At this point I put mine back in the fridge just because I didn’t have time to finish it off, but it could also be removed from the pan if you want, I used a spring form pan to make it easy to get it out.

DSC_0667

Cover the cake with the remaining cream and then coat top and sides with a layer of flaked coconut.

This cake had a lot more steps than my usual cakes and I was nervous taking it to work without having taste tested it first, I was worried about the flavours being too strong, especially the cream being too limey, but hoping the coconut would mellow it out.

And would you believe it I never got to taste it! I went home sick from work last night and left my cake for everyone else to enjoy, so I cannot give you a taste review. You will all have to make it and let me know how it was!

 DSC_0676

One Response to “Ginger and Lime Layer Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Letitia Cropley Busts The Ginger | The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment - June 3, 2013

    […] Ginger and Lime Layer Cake (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

