The Pincushion that became a Pillow

2 Jun

Last month I was obsessed with crocheted pincushion (I still am, they are just so cute) and last time I went to my mum’s house I noticed that she was still using the pin cushion I made by filling an aerosol can lid with polyfill and covering it with fabric when I was maybe 8. So, I thought it was time for an upgrade.

Taking inspiration from Kristina K of Cup of colour (the image below is hers) I set out to make something similar to her her gorgeous little pincushions.

Crocheted pincushion, hexagon shape, cotton thread, bright colors, red, yellow, orange, handmade

I started by making a granny style hexagon using treble stitches. The first hexagon was a little on the large side so I changed my stitches to half trebles and to try and reduce the rippling I started doing 2 stitches instead of 3. The rippling reduced somewhat, but i wasn’t too worried as I knew it wouldn’t be noticeable once stretched around a little cushion. The size still worried me but a kept going. I made 8 hexagons altogether. As predicted it was rather much too big to be a pincushion. I was disappointed, but I kept going.Image

 

Joining them together was interesting. I used a double crochet on the wrong side, which was easy enough but like always, my eagerness to get stuck into a project backfired and a stitched wrong sides together and some unpicking was necessary. Finally a got it together, I left two sides unstitched so that I could squeeze the little pillow into it.Image

Image

You can see from this picture that it is much too large to be the pincushion it so dearly wanted to be

I made the pillow from some scrap fabric I had. I cut out two hexagons that were larger than my crocheted cover, sewed them together and filled it with polyfill.

I squeezed it through the small gap in the cover, wiggled it around until it was in just the right position and then using a darning needle and yarn stitched up the opening.

So it was too large to be a pin cushion, but I thought it was a nice size for a small accent pillow. 

My Grandma lives in a nursing home and it is her birthday next week, she will be 84! I am going to give it to her, to brighten up her room. 

I’m thinking of putting tassels on the corners, but don’t know if I can be bothered.

I am still going to make a pin cushion for my mum, I have found some recycled cotton at Lincraft that I really like and would make a good pincushion. 

So here we go with round two…..

 

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

