Treasures in the Garage

17 Jun

Last weekend was my Grandma’s 84th birthday, so I traveled back to Lismore for the weekend. This gave me a chance to go through my Mum’s shed again and sort out some of the things she has stored there. I can’t believe the treasure trove that I found!

DSC_0666

At first I thought I just had bags of yarn, which is great, there were some really beautiful colours and textures there. I was really taken with some delicious dapled lemon and peachy baby merinoDSC_0668but was completely puzzled at the abundance of some pretty wretched colours, particularly bubblegum pink, burgundy and beige, however I continued to sort.

There was an old metal biscuit tin which had belonged to my Great Grandmother and inside there were heaps of spools of crochet cotton, some embroidery yarn, embroidery patterns and some unfinished embroidery. There was also an old wooden spool, which was empty, but I kept it as I thought it was a little bit special, as spools are all boring plastic these days, and I know people collect things like that.

Then I pulled out a heavy bag, which to my delight was filled with old fabric, some of these I remember being around the house when I was very small.

Photo: And vintage fabric.  I am in heaven

I don’t know what I will make from them, but I couldn’t turn down metres of free fabric so I will find something to do with all of this.

There were more doilies than you could poke a stick at! My mum can tell the difference between the ones my Great Grandmother did and the ones my Grandma did. Apparently Nanny crocheted looser than Granny, Also Nanny loved colour (she is the one responsible  for all of that bubblegum pink!) so many of her doilies have colour in them. Granny was a no nonsense country woman and all her crochet is perfect and done with a beigey coloured cotton.

I brought home a few doilies that I plan on washing and blocking then sewing together to create a table centre (add that to the to do list)

DSC_0660

Then I found the reason for the horrible coloured yarn!DSC_0657

This half finished afghan! I understand why it is half finished, Nanny must have come to her senses and realised what an awful colour combination she had chosen. The other piece in the picture is a jacket and booties which were started for me but were never finished before the end of Winter, so they were put aside and forgotten until now. which is unfortunate as they are nothing short of beautiful!

There were two of these great squares

DSC_0664

 but no pattern, my Mum thought it should be easy enough to figure out though. Finishing this might also be added to the to do list.

Here is some of the embroidery

DSC_0659

Just look at how perfect all those little tiny crosses are! I really want to learn embroidery but I can’t see myself having the patience for it or being neat enough for it to look any good.

Below is an embroidered table cloth with a crocheted edge. It has a few stains on it so hopefully I will be able to get those out and put this to use!

stash

Then there is all the patterns! Most were from the 70’s and 80’s, some were older, some were much older! Some, I am sure if they were in better condition would be collectibles.

I have to laugh at the pictures in the magazines. Everyone always seems so happy to be wearing the ghastly crocheted creations they are in.

DSC_0670

I don’t know if you can see in this picture but the lady on the right is quite exposed in that top, yet she looks as though she hasn’t a care in the world. I don’t think I would be that carefree if I had a nipple hanging out of my shirt, how about you?

DSC_0671

I was surprised to find a couple of things that I am going to add to the ever expanding to do list. What do you think of this Egyptian inspired top on the right. I think it could look rather fetching with some gorgeous jewel colours around the neckline.

DSC_0672


I love the staging in the old magazines. Just look at how beautiful that navy coffee pot looks against the red pineapple doily, and the simplicity of the tea cups on the tray mat with its fabulous turquoise edging, but my favourite has to be the green chair back cover with the recently discarded magazine perched on the chair just waiting for its owner to return.
I can just imagine housewives from the 70’s falling in love with these pictures and having to whip up their own red doily to serve coffee on when the ladies come to visit.

stash1
There was also a lot of knitting paraphernalia, and a half knitted jumper in bubble gum pink! These, regretfully I left behind.
It makes me nostalgic and sad going through all of this stuff but I am glad I have been able to give it a new home and a new life and continue the tradition that has been so strong in my family.

5 Responses to “Treasures in the Garage”

  1. Hannah Ackroyd June 17, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    What fantastic finds! Every so often my Grandma sifts through her yarn collection and I am gifted several odd balls of DK and last time I got three trays of crochet cotton! It is fantastic to receive these things…when they bags start arriving it is like Christmas! I love all of the things you have found and I hope you can put them all to good use!

  2. thegrangerange.wordpress.com June 19, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    You have got some really fantastic finds from the past, I am sure you will have fun using them. Love the crochet top patterns and look forward to seeing them when you get around to making them.

  3. craftyminx1980 June 19, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    I can’t wait to get started on a top either, I should think about doing it soon so it is ready for summer! So far I have just woven in some ends on the doilies to get them ready for a small project I want to use them in.

  4. Old Pearly Jenkins June 20, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    After reading this post last night, you inspired me to pull out last year’s winter project from under the bed. I sat and watched ‘The Block’ unpicking the mistakes I’d been avoiding.

    • craftyminx1980 June 21, 2013 at 8:45 am #

      I’m glad to have offered you some inspiration! Good luck with getting your project finished. Stacie 🙂

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

