Healthy Lollies

23 Jun

As I have mentioned before I am attempting to cut down/eliminate refined sugar from mine and my families diet. It is proving difficult. I can go for over a week without sugar and not really wanting it at all, but then foolishly I sample even the smallest sweet treat and I feel I can’t stop shoveling junk into myself. It is quite a battle! When I was pregnant it was my plan to not give my kids sugar, but Mr Minx is quite the sweet tooth, actually he is quite the junk food of any type aficionado so this plan was quickly over.  DSC_0751

I pinned this Healthy Gummybear recipe  from Undressed Skeleton a while ago. Well I finally made it this week.

It was super easy. you can use any fruit and juice combination that you want.

The basic recipe is

1 cup of juice, obviously unprocessed and no added sugar juices are best

2 cups of chopped fruit

Honey/stevia to taste

5 tablespoons of gelatin
DSC_0733

 We used apple and strawberries and a wonderful organic apple and strawberry juice.DSC_0735

To make them all you do is boil the fruit and juice until the fruit is soft.DSC_0743

Put it all in a blender and whizz it up until smooth, add the gelatin and sweetener and whizz a bit more.

Pour it all into a cake tin and then into the fridge to set, I lined mine with baking paper as I was unsure as how it would come away from the tin, but it comes away easily and the paper was unnecessary.

It only took about 10-20 minutes to be ready. I tipped it out onto the chopping board and chopped it into bite size pieces, if you want and if you have a small cookie/fondant cutter you can cut little shapes.DSC_0747

Now for the taste test……

The texture is rather spongey, not really like the jube type lollies they are meant to replace. I thought the taste was alright, it is not super sweet but then I didn’t add much honey to mine so this could be fixed.

I think initially Rooster liked them but when Mr Minx ran from the lounge room to the kitchen to spit his in the bin Rooster also decided he didn’t like them. Mr Minx didn’t like the texture nor the flavour.

Duckman used them as building blocks, I don’t think he even ate one, which is highly unusual for him, he is normally shoving any food or non food items in his mouth he can get his hands on.

Don’t be put off by my fussy, sugar corrupted family, they aren’t all that bad, actually they are not bad at all.

Give them a try and let me know what you think of them.

 

2 Responses to “Healthy Lollies”

  1. missgreensheep June 23, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    Haha I think it’s a lovely idea!

  2. Old Pearly Jenkins June 24, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    I’ve got a shocking sweet tooth. I went to a place here in Brisbane last week that was selling HUGE bags of Turkish Delight ‘offcuts’ for $3.50. ……Heaven.
    Kudos for making these sweets thought.!.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

