Experimenting with Paleo Baking- Chocolate Zucchini Cake with Avocado Icing

29 Jun

I am very skeptical of Paleo Baking. I just can’t imagine how the sugar/dairy/wheat substitutes could ever taste as good as the real thing, I mean avocado as icing? Hmmm. I also don’t want to waste the time and food making something no one wants to eat.
For my first attempt at this I chose a chocolate zucchini cake from Elana’s Pantry. I altered the recipe a little, here’s the original.

image

For my cake I swapped out 1/2 a cup of almond meal for tapioca starch, I couldn’t get cacao powder so I used unsweetened cocoa, I also didn’t have vanilla stevia so I used normal stevia and added vanilla essence and I reduced the amount of honey and added two Medjool dates.

To make it is pretty simple, add everything to a food processor and whizz till smooth, then bake in a loaf pan at 170 degrees Celsius for 40-45 minutes.

For the icing I found a recipe on Paleo Spirit.

Since I didn’t have any maple syrup and I didn’t want to use honey I substituted treacle, which is not paleo but I used such a small amount I wasn’t bothered by its inclusion.

The icing was meant to go in the food processor, but since I had already put the bowl into the dish washer and I was in a let’s get this done mood I just mashed it all together with a fork and that worked just fine.

image

I had a little taste of the icing before it went on the cake, and I must tell you, I wasn’t impressed, it was bitter like dark chocolate, but I went ahead and put it on the cake (the great thing about this icing is that you don’t need to wait for the cake to cool as it doesn’t melt!) I put a sprinkle of coconut on top to pretty it up and cover up the bitterness.

So, the cake passed the first taste test, Duckman promptly devoured a whole slice when he woke up from his nap, which I took as a good sign.

We were going to my step sisters for lunch today so I took the cake with me and after lunch with a cup of tea we all had a small slice.

The taste surprised me and everyone else. It is rich, chocolatey,moist beyond belief,  fudgey and so yummy! The icing even tasted fine. For a cake with only cocoa it is super rich, it tastes like it has melted dark chocolate in it. It has a subtle sweetness which is a really nice change from the sickly sweet cakes that I normally treat myself with.

Mr Minx didn’t like it, but that was to be expected and Rooster did not try it, apparently he doesn’t like chocolate cake, which was a revelation to me.

It was really great to have a slice of cake knowing that it wasn’t laden with sugar and that it might actually be healthy and it was actually tasty. This cake will be made again.

image

Chocolate Zucchini cake with Avocado Icing

Ingredients

  •  ¾ cup Almond meal
  •  ½ cup tapioca starch 
  • ¼ cup cocoa
  •  ¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  •  2 large eggs
  •  2 tablespoons coconut oil
  •  ¼ cup honey
  •  2 medjool dates
  • ¼ teaspoon stevia
  •  1 cup zucchini, grated
  •  ¼ teaspoon vanilla essence

Icing

  • ½ avocado
  •  1/3 cup cocoa
  •  ¼ cup treacle

Method
For the cake mix ingredients in food processor until smooth pour into loaf pan and bake at 170° C for 40-45 minutes.
For the icing mash or process all ingredients until smooth. Spread over cake

3 Responses to “Experimenting with Paleo Baking- Chocolate Zucchini Cake with Avocado Icing”

  1. Cassie July 15, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Just thought I’d let u know I made this cake today! Half way through though I realized I just used my Zuchinni in my veggie soup I made :-/ so I used a cup of grated carrot and it turned out fabulous!!! All 3 kids & hubby ate it! I didn’t tell them it was healthy or what was in it! Kids didn’t question it!! (Hubby said it tasted a bit different but he still liked it ) Yay!! Thanks. Oh I found your blog through Mel at one crafty muma. Cassie 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Primal Challenge – Day 2 | The Primal Fear - July 2, 2013

    […] Experimenting with Paleo Baking- Chocolate Zucchini Cake with Avocado Icing (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Paleo Caramel Mud Cupcakes | Misadventures in craft - August 16, 2013

    […] Experimenting with Paleo Baking- Chocolate Zucchini Cake with Avocado Icing (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

