Fab Finds Friday- Birthday Cakes

5 Jul

Birthday season is fast approaching in my house. My Birthday is first, the next day it is Rooster’s birthday, 4 weeks later is Duckman’s birthday and 3 weeks after that is Mr Minx’s turn. So for today’s Fab Finds I am going to show you some of the Fab cakes I have found while looking for the perfect ones!

Since Rooster has been around I haven’t really celebrated my birthday, or had a cake as I am always too busy getting ready for his birthday. This year however, I am having a cake!

As a child I always wanted to be a mermaid and would sit in the bathtub for hours waiting to turn into one ( I think I watched Splash too many times). It never happened. Even today I dream about being a mermaid! So a mermaid cake it will be this year.

There are so many Ariels out there, so when I came across this LaLa Loopsy mermaid from Dream Day Cakes I fell in love. She is so cute, what little girl wouldn’t love this. The work that has gone into this is amazing and far beyond my capabilities. I think if I attempted this there would be a lot of fondant being thrown in frustration! This is not the cake for me.

This is the cake for me. My MIL gave me a cake decorating book several years ago and I have been dreaming about this cake since I first turned the page and saw it. I am so excited to make it.  She is just so pretty, although I think I will probably give her blonde hair so she looks more like me!

Image

As soon as last years Pirate extravaganza was over, Rooster started planning this years party. He decided on a log party, what that is I don’t really know, but he wanted a log cake and this is the one we found from Complete Delight.

LogCake-1

However the Kiwi in him has come out and he has changed his mind and now wants this Kiwi Party cake

This is also the book the mermaid comes from.

I’ve spoken about Duckman’s duck love before so what better for him than duck cakes.

This cake looks impressive but fairly straightforward, so for me it is a winner. This is what I will make. it actually comes from a site called Cake 2 the Rescue. They make up kits for you to make cake making easier, the kits come with all cake and decorating ingredients, cake board, candles, recipe card, rolling pin and baking tray. What a great idea is that.

For Daycare he will get some cute little cupcakes that hopefully look as good as these ones from Kitchen Mischief

Mr Minx loves his 80’s video games, especially Pac Man so when I found these Pac Man cupcakes I knew they were perfect. These ones are from Hello Naomi

pac man cake   There is a lot of fondant in this years cakes. Fondant is daunting but when I have made fondant cakes in the past they have turned out well, so maybe it is all in my head. Stay tuned in future months to see if I can pull off these cakes or something like them.

Here are some more Fabulous cakes I came across during my searches, click the photos for the original.

Circus cake from Planet Cake

Gorgeous little ombre cakes from Glorious Treats

DIY Watercolor Cake Tutorial by Miso Bakes  |  TheCakeBlog.com

A beautiful water colour cake from Miso from Miso Bakes

I hope you have enjoyed these wonderful cakes as much as I have enjoyed showing you.

One Response to “Fab Finds Friday- Birthday Cakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scooby Dooby Doo, Where are you? | Misadventures in craft - October 4, 2013

    […] 5 a few weeks ago and we had his party this week end just gone. Originally he had planned to have this cake with fondant kiwis on top, but as the day got closer I just had no time or energy to work with […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

