Granny-a-long: Lillian

6 Jul

I have been wanting to write a post about my Nan for a while now so when I saw the Granny-a-long over at Meet me at Mikes I knew it was time!

Nanny, with her sister at the local show

Nanny, with her sister at the local show

This post is going to be hard for me, Nanny is my number One, my Mum was young and my Dad was not around so Nanny took on many rolls for me other than Grandmother, she was a second mother, a father, a babysitter, a playmate, a teacher. We lived with her until I was 3 1/2 and even after that I saw her every day since my mum worked so she took care of me and then I would go to her place before and after school right up until I was 12 and my brother was born, so then my mum was home. Maybe 4 years ago she started having health problems, namely strokes, and she now lives in Aged Care. I struggle seeing such a feisty, lively and independent woman living this way.

Lillian with friends from Tech

This is Nanny with friends from Tech, she is the short one.

Nanny grew up in rural Australia, she was a modern girl who wanted nothing more than to go to Tech and study typing and short hand so that she could become a secretary, but as a 16-year-old she couldn’t stand up to her mother who told her that she would do dressmaking and pattern drafting as that is what girls do. So she went to tech and learnt dress making and pattern drafting, I feel bad for her that she didn’t get to live out her dreams, but then if she had her life would have been different and I wouldn’t be here writing this now, so things always happen for a reason don’t they.

She married my grandfather, a carpenter, and they lived on a dairy farm in Nimbin. They adopted my uncle and then my mum.

Although she never had any formal employment she was a jack of all trades.She made dresses and did the hair of local ladies, she worked on the farm, picked and packed fruit for her sister and played piano and sang at country dances.

She was never happy in her marriage, I don’t know the details all I have ever been told is that Poppy had a temper. She was brave and in a time when divorces weren’t common and women didn’t leave their husbands, she did.

Then there was me. She was always there for me, took me shopping, to the movies, we ate salmon salad sandwiches and iced coffees at our favourite cafe, she taught me to read, play cards, bake,.she came to my school and helped other children learn to read and there was always a Milo waiting in the fridge for me when I came home from school.

Making Christmas Pudding

Making Christmas Pudding

These days she has good days and bad. Earlier this year she had a bad stroke and we thought we would lose her so I raced back to Lismore to be there and she saw me and rallied after being unresponsive to everyone else. The last time I visited was only a few weeks ago for her birthday, I went to see her and although she was happy and chatty, she didn’t know who I was, she called me This Lady and told me she had a grand-daughter called Stacie, it broke my heart, but then the next day at her party she knew me and she knew my boys. I wish that I lived closer so that I could visit more regularly.

This is us at Nanny’s party, Only the boys are looking at the right camera!

I love my Grandma and I love the memories we made together. I’m so lucky to have her in my life.

Here's the following years Christmas pudding

Here’s the following years Christmas pudding

12 Responses to “Granny-a-long: Lillian”

  1. mandasiefert39 July 6, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Sounds like you are very lucky to have a Grandmother like that.

  2. salpal1 July 6, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    I can so relate to what you are going through, I lost my last grandmother in November – she was 103, I was 53. I know I was so lucky to have her that long, but it wasn’t long enough, either. It’s a wonderful relationship to have. I hope your boys have a similar repationship with yrou Mom.

    • craftyminx1980 July 6, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

      103 is great! My boys love my mum and think it’s such a treat to go visit her.

      • salpal1 July 6, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

        what lucky boys!

  3. katelikestocreate July 6, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    Oh, this post touched my heart. I am very close to my grandmother, who is now suffering from dementia and has good days and bad days. Thank you for sharing xx

    • craftyminx1980 July 6, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      Thanks kate. It seems so terribly unfair for people to spend the end of their lives like this.

      • katelikestocreate July 6, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

        I agree, when it gets really hard, I reflect on how I can have a loving relationship with my toddler and my baby even though we can’t have an intelligent conversation, the same goes for my relationship with Mama. But it’s still so hard. My baby is learning more and more, but Mama is losing all she’s learnt. It’s a long goodbye.

  4. easycraftsforchildren July 7, 2013 at 5:59 am #

    wonderful story 🙂

  5. Belinda @ Elsie and Joan July 8, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    She sounds like an amazing lady. Absolutely beautiful, thanks for sharing. Belinda x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t Read This on a Japanese Train | Laptop on the Ironing Board - July 26, 2013

    […] reading a delightful post by Misadventures in Craft  about Crafty Minx’s nan, Lillian, I learnt about the ”Granny-a-Long” hosted by […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

