The Cutest Dog Scarf

11 Jul

When it finally got cold here in Brisbane and after jibes from Mr Minx that I only “knit” little trinkets and never actually make anything useful I decided to make some cute animal scarves for The Minimen inspired by this free pattern.

First up is a dog scarf for Rooster.

.DSC_0693

It seems like an age ago that I began this scarf but in reality it is probably about 5 weeks ago. I thought is would only take a few days, and initially I was doing really well and then I lost motivation and then it was super hot here last week, like short shorts and singlet weather so the scarf got put to the side, then there was a request for a matching beanie so I started that (there will be a post on that later when it has had its final touches done). Then this week was cold again and I was becoming really quite annoyed at myself for stretching this project far longer than it should have gone for and I want to start on something else so I finished it up this week (all I had to do was stitch eyes on, something so simple and I just couldn’t bring myself to do it!).
DSC_0681

I don’t know when or if Duckman will get a scarf, maybe next winter.

So about the scarf, I used a super soft nylon/acrylic blend for the heads and ears and acrylic for the eyes and bones and cotton for the noses. The ears, heads, noses and bones are all made separately and stitched together.DSC_0691

In the pattern glue on eyes were used, however since Duckman loves to put things in his mouth, food and non food, I thought I would just stitch on some eyes. There was a bit of trial and error in getting the eyes to look neat (I have no embroidery skills), but eventually they came together. To finish it of I pressed it with a damp cloth and low heat on the iron, it doesn’t sit perfectly but it will be wrapped around a neck so no one will know.

I worry that the scarf is a bit flimsy, especially for a whirlwind of a boy such as mine. I guess we’ll see how long it lasts, at least it is finished! and it is very cute.


DSC_0694

 

 

 

4 Responses to “The Cutest Dog Scarf”

  1. mandasiefert39 July 11, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    That IS cute!!!!!!!

  2. kimberlyakinola July 11, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

    This is lovely.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puppy Beanie | Misadventures in craft - August 11, 2013

    […] while I was making this Dog scarf for Rooster he requested a beanie to go with it. I went on a bit of a Google search and the cutest […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

