Paleo Caramel Mud Cupcakes

16 Aug

I love caramel mud cake, actually I love anything caramel so when I saw this recipe from Wholefood Simply I just had to try it!DSC_0836

I made a couple of changes. I didn’t have coconut flour, so far in my Paleo journey I have refused to buy it as it is soooo expensive, and as nice as coconut is I don’t want everything to taste like coconut.

Here is my version of the recipeDSC_0832

1Kg of raw sweet potato, roast in oven in chunks with skin on until soft then remove skin (which are a super tasty treat themselves)

10 medjool dates, seeds removed

3 tablespoons hulled tahini

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup arrowroot

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1 teaspoon bicarb soda

4 eggs

Pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius or 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Process dates, potato and egg until smooth.

Transfer to a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.

Pour batter into prepared tin or patty papers and bake 45 minutes for a cake or 20 minutes for cupcakes.

Now for the Icing

4 heaped tablespoons hulled tahini

4 heaped tablespoons honey

4 heaped tablespoons coconut oil

2 medjool datesDSC_0826

Blend everything until smooth, put in the fridge to harden up and then top cake with it. This icing is very runny at room temperature and I found the coconut oil doesn’t mix in very well. Sharon from Sweet Potato Bun suggests that coconut oil may not be the best thing for icing since it is unstable at room temperatures and that perhaps pastured butter or palm shortening is a better option, she also adds some arrowroot to her icing to mimic the structural hold of cornflour in icing sugar, so these might be some things to experiment with in the future.

So how does it taste I hear you ask. Fabulous! I didn’t know what to expect from the sweet potato, I knew that it would be moist from when I made the chocolate zucchini cake, and I was concerned about the tapioca starch/arrowroot as it gives the batter a bitter after taste, but this seems to bake out and I had some lovely little moist and decadent caramel mud cupcakes. The icing, although very runny is delicious, beautiful caramel date and honey flavoured with a hint of coconut. I really am fighting hard not to go back to the fridge and eat them all!DSC_0834

Once again I have been pleasantly surprised by Paleo baking, the only thing that disappoints me is that it is not as pretty to look at as regular baking.

3 Responses to “Paleo Caramel Mud Cupcakes”

  1. Grog, aka "The Optimist" August 16, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Reblogged this on The Memoirs of a Yo-Yo Dieter and commented:
    While it may take me a while to find some of these ingredients at my local Whole Foods, this recipe sounds INCREDIBLE.

    I’m always on the search for Paleo sweets and treats and this looks like it will definitely hit the spot.

  2. Grog, aka "The Optimist" August 16, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    This sounds absolutely delicious! I’ve been meaning to pick up Tahini, as I hear it’s pretty crucial to Paleo baking. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

    • craftyminx1980 August 16, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

      You’re welcome. the cake is delicious, the icing is too coconutty for me. Let me know how you go if you make it.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

