Still a hippie at heart…

21 Aug

You might remember this post about me wanting to make a pouf from t-shirt yarn to go in my non-existent entry way. Well things are starting to move on the next stage of our renovation so I might have a lovely little Scandi inspired entry way by Christmas (fingers crossed). So I have started getting ready to make my little pouf.DSC_0881

I grew up in a part of Australia known for embracing an alternative way of life so for many years I wore a lot of crazy hippie clothes and didn’t brush my hair all that much and often went without shoes. Living in the city for the past 15 years has changed the way I dress, but every so often my inner hippie get released like it has this weekend when I rediscovered my love of tie-dying.

As a teenager I tie-dyed everything I could get my hands on. I had tie-dyed bed sheets, curtains and clothes, I tie-dyed rompers for my brother when he was a baby, I even gave all the men in my family tie-dyed socks and jocks one year for Christmas.

To add some colour to my pouf I thought I would tie-dye the t-shirts before cutting them up into yarn. I chose to use the primary colours of yellow, red and blue in hope that I would also and up with some secondary colours in the final product.

I prepared my t-shirts by cutting off the top of the shirt and the bottom hem, leaving me with bands of fabric.DSC_0840

I rubber banded my fabric, the more bands that are used the less dye will penetrate the fabric.DSC_0851

I prepared my dye per the packet instructions, although I didn’t worry about whether it had all dissolved or not since this is all about colour variegation. I started with yellow as this is the lightest colour I was using.

With some help from The Minimen I popped my banded fabric into the dye gave it a stir and let it sit for 30ish minutes.DSC_0852

After rinsing I excitedly removed the rubber bands. I was so over joyed with the results I think I might have even done a little celebratory dance.DSC_0854

It is so satisfying when things turn out the way you were hoping.DSC_0855

So I repeated the process with the red DSC_0858and blue dyes,DSC_0872 each time adding more rubber bands to have a good mix of colour.

My thumbs ended up pretty sore from putting on and removing all the rubber bands, but I guess there can’t be creative gain without some pain.

This is how my yarn turned out! I’m in love, are you? Mr Minx even said he was impressed.DSC_0876

I used this nifty little join to make one continuous length of yarn when I cut them up.

Now I have one deliciously colourful ball of t-shirt yarn and I can’t wait to see how it will look crocheted.DSC_0880

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

