I felt a bit like one of those over achieving supermums yesterday…..

28 Aug

DSC_0901It is strawberry season here at the moment, unfortunately we don’t grow our own, nor have I had time to go to a farm to pick our own, but they are incredibly cheap at the supermarkets and fruit stores and so delicious! I have bought many punnets lately.DSC_0888

Yesterday morning, while making Mr Minx’s green smoothie (yesterdays was almond milk, strawberry, kiwi and silverbeet) I noticed a recipe for Strawberry ricotta muffins on the inside lid of the strawberry punnet, and of course the logical thought when I have to myself ready for work and the Minimen fed, clothed and ready to leave the house in an hour was “I might whip up a batch of those now”

While the Minimen slept I raced around and got myself presentable then in super human speed I made the muffin batter and put them in the oven. Here’s the recipe courtesy of Coolhaven Farms, Beerwah.

250g strawberries, hulled and chopped roughly

2 1/2 cups of S.R flour

I tsp of ground cinnamon

2/3 cup of castor sugar (I used 1/3 stevia 1/3 castor sugar)

2 eggs

3 tbs of melted butter

1 cup of milk

1 cup of ricotta ( I used low-fat ricotta)

Mix dry (flour, sugar, cinnamon) ingredients in a large bowl and wet (butter, milk, eggs) ingredients in another bowl or jug.

Pour wet into dry and mix until just combined add ricotta and strawberries, spoon into muffin pan I like to use patty papers to make cleaning up easier. The recipe said to put a dollop of ricotta on top and sprinkle with demerara sugar, however I didn’t think the other members of my house would eat anything dolloped with ricotta and I do not have demerara sugar, nor do I really know what it is, so instead I sprinkled some brown sugar, I would have liked to put some oats on top too but once again I need them to be appealing to all members of my house.

Then I popped them in the oven, preheated to 180 degrees Celsius for 20-25 minutes.

While they were cooking I was able to feed the Minimen, who had woken up while I was making the batter, they wanted spaghetti on toast and there was a mini meltdown from Rooster as he didn’t want his brother having the same breakfast as him, crisis averted by sprinkling some cheese on Duckman’s spaghetti.DSC_0894

Then with the promise of fresh muffins, they got dressed without complaint, even happily put shoes on!

Then the muffins were ready!DSC_0898

They were delicious! Rooster, who usually is not fussed on home-made devoured two, and two more when he got home in the afternoon.

The Minimen went to daycare without even a hint of a melt down and I even made it to work on time, if only every morning could be like this!

5 Responses to “I felt a bit like one of those over achieving supermums yesterday…..”

  1. petals & vintage August 29, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your recipe. Sounds delicious! x

  2. Kerri September 4, 2013 at 2:24 am #

    Spaghetti on toast? That’s a first for me. 🙂 I had to chuckle over reading about brother quarreling over eating the same breakfast… too funny what kids can find to be competitive over.

    • craftyminx1980 September 4, 2013 at 5:03 am #

      Spaghetti on toast is very popular in my house. It is the tinned variety that comes in tomato sauce. Kind of like baked beans.

      • Kerri September 4, 2013 at 5:40 am #

        Sounds good to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

