Little Stacks of Heaven

11 Nov

Despite pavlova being a traditional Australian/New Zealand dessert I had never actually tried it until a few years ago. It is a favourite of my husband’s and he often has me whip one up for him.DSC_0972

For those of you who may be unfamiliar with pav it is basically one big pile of meringue which is crunchy on the outside and fluffy and soft on the inside, topped with whipped cream and seasonal fruit. We are not too fussed on the fluffy middle, to me it has a slight raw egg flavour so I make a variation on the traditional pav by making several thin rounds of meringue and layer them with cream and strawberries to make a pavlova stack.  These thin layers are mostly crunchy with a bit of chewy gooiness in the middle and no raw egg flavour.DSC_0968

As it is my husbands birthday this week (and this happens to be my 100th post)  I thought I would make these cute individual Mini Pavlova Stacks.

The recipe I use is simple and super easy.

6 egg whites, (I can’t bear the waste of throwing away the yolks so they are in the freezer and there may be some ice cream in my near future)

1 1/2  cups of caster sugar

3 tsp cornflourDSC_0949

Whip whites and sugar in an electric mixer on high until thick and glossy, I did it for about 5 minutes.DSC_0952

Line several baking trays with baking paper and sprinkle with cornflour. I also draw circles on the paper to use as a guide when spreading the meringue.
DSC_0955

Spoon or pipe equal amounts of meringue onto the paper and spread it out using the circles to ensure they are all an equal size and shape.

Pop them in an oven preheated to 120 degrees Celsius for roughly an hour, they should sound hollow when tapped. Turn the oven off but don’t remove them just yet, leave the oven door ajar and let them sit in the oven for another hour or so to dry out.DSC_0964

If they don’t readily come away from the paper then they haven’t dried out enough, I just put mine back in the oven for a little longer. However, it is my experience that some meringues just don’t want to play nicely. Out of the 18 rounds I made 2 were not interested in behaving correctly and consequently were smashed.DSC_0963

Now it is time to put the stack together!

Whip up some cream layer one meringue, cream, fruit of your choice, berries, tropical fruits like mango, kiwi and passionfruit or stone fruits like peaches or nectarines are definitely the best, repeat layers twice.DSC_0971

You should definitely serve this fresh and with a scoop of very good quality vanilla ice cream!

Now go and enjoy this heavenly little treat!DSC_0973

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

