Advent Calendar

28 Nov

This year has just completely gotten away from me, how did it get to be Christmas again already? I had such plans of Christmas craftiness and starting early but here I am in the last week of November and only just getting going!DSC_1061

So this year I wanted to make the Minimen an Advent calendar with a difference, instead of cheap chocolate or junky toys for the countdown to what is possibly the greatest day of the year for most kids, I decided to fill their days with fun (hopefully) events. Some of them are simple, like a trip to the movies or their choice of take out meal, others are much more exciting like a trip to an outdoor ice skating rink ( this is pretty special since Christmas is in the middle of Summer here) or visiting Lollipop Land.DSC_1053

To make the calendar I used a bamboo stick, any other type of stick would work just as well, DSC_1033paint,DSC_1034 glitter, DSC_1035string, Christmas ornaments DSC_1070and small cards and envelopes.DSC_1047

Even though it is the middle of Summer in Brisbane I love Winter themed Christmas decorations. I started by painting the bamboo blue, then once that was dry I painted some craft glue on the ends and in the middle and coated this with white glitter.DSC_1050

Using a silver marker I wrote each activity on a card and placed it in a numbered envelope.
DSC_1055

I punched a hole in each envelope, attached a string and tied them to the bamboo. I added the snowflake decorations, hung it on the wall and took a bunch of photos of it.DSC_1068

I can’t wait to start opening the cards with the Minimen. I hope they enjoy this as much as I enjoyed making it. DSC_1067

4 Responses to “Advent Calendar”

  1. roylcoblog November 30, 2013 at 12:21 am #

    This is a gorgeous craft. I’m so excited for the upcoming holidays–would love to make this sometime soon!

    • craftyminx1980 November 30, 2013 at 6:29 am #

      Thank you. I am pretty happy with how it turned out. I didn’t really have a plan when I started but it came together well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Easy Last Minute Advent Calendar | Play It Again Mummy - November 30, 2013

    […] Advent Calendar (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

  2. An Easy Last Minute Advent Calendar - December 5, 2013

    […] Advent Calendar (craftyminx1980.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

