Paleo vanilla cupcakes with not so paleo strawbery icing

1 Dec

This week both my blender and food processor have given up on me. I am quite beside myself with grief.

Fortunately my mixer works just fine, so to console myself I made some delicious paleo vanilla cupcakes using this cake recipe from Paleo Fondue.

image

They have the not so paleo addition of white choc chips, they are also iced with not so paleo buttercream.

and since white chocolate goes so well with strawberries I added fresh strawberries into the butter cream, which is simply butter and icing sugar.

imageThe buttercream is decadent and tastes just like strawberry heaven.

The cake is moist and fabulous, it uses a combination of arrowroot and coconut flour which I think is a good combination. I have only used arrowroot by itself previously and I find it can have a bitter aftertaste, the addition of the sweet coconut flour masks this and although the raw flour had a distinctly coconut flavour, I couldn’t detect that in the baked cake. It also has both coconut sugar and honey, I think one of these would probably be enough sweetner as the cake is super sweet and caramely.

This will definitely be my new go to vanilla cake recipe.

 

2 Responses to “Paleo vanilla cupcakes with not so paleo strawbery icing”

  1. mydearbakes December 1, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Yum yum! I would so like to have a taste of that fantastic bake! =)

    • craftyminx1980 December 1, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

      They were so delicious. The addition of fresh strawberries in the buttercream was something I had never done before but I will definitely be doing it again.

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

