Bobbly citrus baby blanket

7 Jan

I finally finished the blanket I have been making for my husband’s cousin’s soon to be born baby.DSC_1173

New babies are so exciting. I love their squishy little miniature bodies.

I also love baby blankets. They are such an excuse to use bright, fun colours and patterns, although let’s be honest, do you really need an excuse to work with bright fun colors and patterns. I think that’s one of the best things about crochet, it lends itself so well to colour explosion.

When Choosing the colours for this blanket I had to go with gender neutral colours as these parents are the type that like to keep the sex of their babies secret. Also, since it is Summer here there isn’t a vast array of yarn available.

DSC_1177

Any way, I went with some spritely citrus tones (yellow, lime, orange and cream) and used 4 ply 100% merino. I hadn’t used merino before, it was lovely. I thought it was similar to cotton in that there was no fuzz on the yarn it was really smooth and soft.

The pattern I used comes from a motif book my mum passed onto me, it is called the pink square, I have made it before in all one colour. It is a large square, about 22 cm. It looked really different done in multiple colours. I think it looks like a big daisy.DSC_1174

I made 12 squares in total. I joined them together  using a slip stitch.

DSC_1175

I wanted the border to resemble the squares in the type of stitches used. The first round was a simple little cream cluster of 3 double trebles in the spaces between the last round of the squares, each cluster separated by a single chain.

DSC_1182

 Following this I did a round of orange  doubles, 2 in each one chain space and a round of double trebles into each stitch. Both the cream and orange rounds had to be undone and redone with less stitches, as they rippled really badly.

DSC_1181

Next I did 3 rounds of double in yellow.

DSC_1183

I had found this super cute pom pom edging on Pinterest ages ago from Once upon a Pink Moon, and had been waiting for the perfect opportunity to use it. This blanket was that opportunity, so I finished it off with the pom pom edge in lime.

DSC_1179

I did a little happy dance and jumped up and down when I hooked that last stitch.

This is probably the biggest project I have finished. I am pretty chuffed with myself.

DSC_1180

The blanket is beautiful and soft, just right for a little squishy baby to snuggle under.

DSC_1176

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Bobbly citrus baby blanket”

  1. RobotDancing January 8, 2014 at 6:17 am #

    Gorgeous! I really love those colours 🙂

  2. Hannah January 13, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    I love the citrus feel! Such happy colors 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goals for February | Misadventures in craft - February 3, 2014

    […] for all the people I know who are having babies in April, I have already shared with you the Citrus Bobble Blanket and the beginning of a blanket for my cousin. This one should be finished this week and I can get […]

  2. On the border – a round up of my favourite crochet borders | Misadventures in craft - February 13, 2014

    […] by far my favourite border for a baby blanket. It is tactile, fun and whimsical. I used this in my citrus bobble blanket and I can definitely see myself using it over and over […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

