New blanket for a boy in the making.

8 Jan

After the success of the last blanket, I immediately got to work on a blanket for my cousin.  She is expecting a boy in a few months.
For Christmas my mother in law gave me this book by Edie Eckman.
image

It is full of unique motifs.  I am so in love with it.
I have decided on a simple square with a bobble feature.  Here is the first complete square.
image

When I went to Lincraft I was looking for a light coloured grey to go with the light blue, dark blue and white that I already had.  However,  it is summer so the only grey available was this dark one, which I have fallen utterly in love with.  It is 8 ply 100% wool. I thought it felt rough when I bought it but it is the complete opposite.  The square I made is so soft and squishy.  It will be so warm for the baby to snuggle under.  The other yarns from my stash are acrylic.
The squares measure about 11cm across,  so I’m going to use 36 squares and do a big boarder.
Our cable had been out for the last 2 nights so I have put tje time to use by hooking up all the centers.
image

This is a few with their second round completed.
image

I think baby blankets might be my mew thing. I am already planning more for the future and I am only two days into this one!

4 Responses to “New blanket for a boy in the making.”

  1. mary January 8, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

    The motifs are awesome. And the possibilities endless. Great idea the gift for the baby. I think it will be much appreciated by both of them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Blankee… | BJ Thoughts... - January 10, 2014

    […] New blanket for a boy in the making. […]

  2. Goals for February | Misadventures in craft - February 3, 2014

    […] babies in April, I have already shared with you the Citrus Bobble Blanket and the beginning of a blanket for my cousin. This one should be finished this week and I can get started on the last […]

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

