I have been knitting…..yes, really.

9 Apr

So I ended up going to a few learn to knit classes, and I must say I don’t know how people find this relaxing, enjoyable, addictive. For me it is just awkward, stressful and the whole time I am doing it I am thinking how I just can’t wait to get back to my current crochet WIP.

Any way I wanted to share the few things I have made.

DSC_1398

This is my sampler piece that I made during the first lesson. There is garter, stocking, rib and moss stitched in this rather messy little number.

DSC_1400

This is the start of a diagonal scarf, so boring so I gave up on this one.

DSC_1401

This is the gorgeous piece of herringbone stitch I created for the vest I am making (the whole reason I learnt to knit)

DSC_1403

And last of all this is hoping to become a scarf one day.

During my last class I bought a ball of Noro yarn and started on this, it uses a twisted drop stitch. I like this stitch, it reminds me of crochet, however it is quite a loose stitch so it has been pretty easy to drop stitches. This aside I am enjoying watching the colours of the Noro emerge and it makes me excited to knit with this .

I can’t see knitting becoming a passion of mine, but it has been a good skill to learn.

8 Responses to “I have been knitting…..yes, really.”

  1. rainbowjunkiecorner April 9, 2014 at 8:11 pm #

    Knitting is different to crochet and I met a knitter on Tuesday who found crochet too difficult. I find knitting soothing when I get into a rhythm. Boring can be good sometimes. It also uses different muscles so is good to give the hands a rest.

    Love your herringbone stitch. It’s not one I’ve tried.

    • craftyminx1980 April 9, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

      I’m really struggling with finding a comfortable way to hold the needles and yarn, I feel like I need another few fingers to get it all together.

      • rainbowjunkiecorner April 9, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

        There are many ways to hold the needles. I find the way my mother taught me the easiest. You hold the right needle (I presume you are right handed) under your arm (you need long needles) wind the yarn round your right hand and rest it gently on the needle towards the tip. The left hand holds the needle with the stitches to be worked and is the one that does the moving. The right hand simply flicks the wool round the end of the needle as each stitch is made. I found it helped me make even stitches though your first attempt looked pretty even to me.

  2. Jo Day April 10, 2014 at 3:47 am #

    Ohh, that herringbone stitch looks awesome!

    • craftyminx1980 April 10, 2014 at 7:18 am #

      Thanks Jo. I am pretty proud of it. The rest of my knitting leaves a bit to be desired though.

  3. salpal1 April 10, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    I think you are doing great for a beginner! It is hard to get used to holding everything just so, but trust me, it gets easier and better with practice. My Mom learned to knit when very pregnant with me, her preferred method is to poke one needle straight down to her tummy. I am nearly 55 years old and she is just unlearning that method. 🙂

    • craftyminx1980 April 10, 2014 at 7:16 am #

      I use my tummy too to support one of the needles when I’m wrapping the yarn around.

      • salpal1 April 11, 2014 at 8:27 pm #

        it works!

Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

