Paleo Crackers

10 Jun

In my never ending quest for the elusive super healthy lifestyle I have once again given up refined sugar cold turkey, which I actually don’t find that hard, I have just done the last week sugar free and last night I had some ice cream and was left quite disappointed that I hadn’t really enjoyed it very much. The hardest thing is not baking, or not tasting my baking!

In addition to giving up sugar I want to reduce the amount of grain I eat. This is much harder for me than sugar, grain is in everything! Wheat, corn and rice make up so many of the easy to grab filling types of food most people love. 

I love crackers, commercial ones are full of things that I don’t want in my body and most home made recipes contain flour. So when I found these paleo crackers I had to give them a try.

The ingredients are

2 cups of almond meal

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp melted coconut oil

1 egg white

dried herbs of your choice (I used an Italian herb mix)Image

To make it is easy, put dry ingredients in a large bowl, mix wet ingredients in a small bowl, pour wet into dry and mix into a dough.Image

Roll it out between baking paper cut into cracker size pieces and bake in an oven preheated to 180 degrees Celsius for about 10 minutes or until golden.Image

I actually forgot to put the water in and I don’t think it effected the crackers at all.

They are pretty yummy, they have a creamy nutty taste from the almond meal and the herbs and salt were the perfect flavour.

These will be making more appearances in my house, apparently it can be used for a pizza base, but I don’t think it seems sturdy enough for that, but it is worth an experiment in the future!Image

3 Responses to “Paleo Crackers”

  1. Pia June 15, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    I need to try these! My body has decided it does not like wheat. My tastebuds don’t agree, but such is life…. 😉

    • craftyminx1980 June 15, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

      They are really yummy, they taste a bit like peanut butter and took no time to make.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yummies | Colour Cottage - June 19, 2013

    […] Almond meal glutenfree crackers […]

Leave a comment

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Reading Cookbooks

food,books.growing

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

Knit and Crochet Ever After

Knit and Crochet Designs and Tutorials by Deja Joy

What Saysie Makes

Sewing, Baking and Ramblings

A Crafty Blog...

A crafty WordPress.com site