Gingerbread Part Two

23 Dec

I make gingerbread bikkies most years. I don’t have a go to recipe, I usually do something different every year.
DSC_1130

This year I used the Iced Ginger Cookie recipe from the Sweet Treats from the Lime lounge Cafe book

Ingredients

125g butter

100g brown sugar

1 egg yolk (I added a whole egg as well)

90g golden syrup

2 1/2 cups plain flour

1 tsp bicarb soda

3 1/2 tsp ground ginger

DSC_1106

Method

Preheat oven to 180ºC and line tray with baking paper.

Beat butter, sugar and egg yolk until creamy

.DSC_1107

Add syrup and beat again.

DSC_1109

Sift flour, bicarb and ginger and fold into mixture.

DSC_1115

At this point the mixture was very crumbly and not coming together like dough should (see the above picture) so I added an egg and beat it all until it was beautifully smooth (the picture below).

DSC_1116

The recipe doesn’t insist on it, but I did refrigerate my dough for about 30 minutes before rolling and cutting shapes.

DSC_1118

The recipes suggests baking them for 30 minutes, but I suggest 15 minutes, and definitely no more than 20.

Cool them on a wire rack.

 DSC_1119

I used a store bought royal icing to ice the bikkies. I just piped simple patterns on to them as I was doing it late at night and just couldn’t be bothered with anything elaborate.

DSC_1122

The Minimen took them to daycare to share with their classes.
They both gave them the thumbs up.
I really liked this recipe, it made a lot of crisp little mouthfuls of ginger yumminess.




Leave a Reply

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

my year of cupcakes

A year to find the best cupcakes on Pinterest!

A World Created

Books, Yarn, Music, Food, & Creativity

Confessions of a Frosting Fanatic

Life is Sweeter with Frosting

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

