Fab Finds Friday- Sewing for Boys

12 Jul

I don’t often find the time  to sew, I would like to sew more so that I can improve, but other things just get in the way.

Maybe if I had girls I would sew more as there are so many sweet little dresses, skirts, accessories and knick knacks that you can make for a girl. Often I am not inspired by patterns available for boys. This Friday I am dedicating the post to some great sewing ideas I have found and would actually make for boys!

1. Boys Cargo Pants from Shwin&Shwin

These cargos are just great, so many pockets and the tutorial is so simple and easy to follow. While you are there have a look around, there are many wonderful sewing ideas for kids!

2. Car Play Mat

Car Play MatThis is from the book Sewing for Boys: 24 Projects to Create a Handmade Wardrobebut I think it would be quite possible to make this without a pattern.

3. Dino Tails from Running with Scissors

Another great tutorial. What little boy doesn’t love dinos!

4. Sailboat Pants from Oliver + S.

These guys make great kids patterns, often with a cute vintage feel. I love the button detail of these pants.

5. Upcycled Pyjamas from Mens shirt from Prudent Baby

I love that these are upcycled, and I love the skinny leg on them.

Has this inspired you to run to the sewing machine? I think I will be doing some more sewing for the Minimen in the future after seeing these Fab Finds!

2 Responses to “Fab Finds Friday- Sewing for Boys”

  1. sewinggoddess July 13, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    this is great! I used to sew for my boys so they could have interesting colorful clothes. They are grown now (well, almost) and both still wear lot’s of colors and neat stuff. Keep up the good work:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fab Find Fridays- Fabric | Misadventures in craft - July 19, 2013

    […] on from last weeks Fab finds Friday- Sewing for Boys I thought I would show you my favourite fabrics for boys this week. I found all of these at […]

Leave a comment

crochetlatte

Free Quality Crochet Patterns

Mingoocraft

A place where color and shape run wild

SewSquirrel

Sewing addict and indie pattern enabler (proprietress) of www.sewsquirrel.com.au

Salty*mom

Tutorials and Ideas for the love of DIY

Live Blissful

delicious plant-based recipes

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Tatie's world

Being in love with yarn

bettedesigns

Handmade fashion accessories and houseware

Reading Cookbooks

food,books.growing

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

Knit and Crochet Ever After

Knit and Crochet Designs and Tutorials by Deja Joy

What Saysie Makes

Sewing, Baking and Ramblings

A Crafty Blog...

A crafty WordPress.com site